Four more years!! Four more Years!!

Thank you Michael Vick and the Philadelphia Eagles for granting me bragging rights in my household for at least the next four years, or until the Steelers play the Eagles again.  The only way they can play each other again is if they meet in the post season (Superbowl) and we all know how the Eagles perform in the NFC championship games.

My marriage is intact, mainly because my husband is awesome.  He is a rabid fan, but ultimately he knows it is just a game.

We did watch the game together, in the living room, although on two different couches.  It was as I expected, both of us exclaiming on each call, either cursing or whooping.  My poor confused child.  She spent the game in the other room, rotting her brain on Spongebob.

At one point she did come in and tried to cheer for both teams.  And then I told her that the Eagles and the Steelers combined forces for one season and became the Steagles.  That made her happy and she marched through the apartment chanting “Steagles! Steagles!”

And don’t worry about her hearing curse words.  She spent at least part of her young life in Pittsburgh.  She is well versed with words she can and cannot say by this point with her grandparents and parents all from the northeast and all rabid sports fans.

As for my neighbors, the ones below us must be deaf.  Or maybe they weren’t home.  We were so loud, we could have awaken the dead.  Each play.  Either “GOOOOO GOOOO GOOO!!” or “GET HIM!”  (thats me) . My husband likes to yell out helpful hints like “TACKLE HIM, JUST WRAP HIM UP” or “WHY ARE YOU JUST STANDING THERE, DO SOMETHING”.  My husband likes to emphasize his point by jumping up and down.  Repeatedly.  And running up to the screen and pointing out available receivers and clear lanes that the running back should have utilized.  As if Michael Vick or LeSean McCoy can see and take advantage of his wisdom.

At the end of the day, my Steelers were victorious, barely, we made a wonderful dinner together, and my husband is demanding that someone is held accountable for the debacle he witnessed.  I’m sure I will hear more about how my team is the “Yankees of football” and how he has yet to “see a parade” featuring his beloved Eagles.

I’ll offer membership to join the Steeler Nation, like my dad did when he defected from America’s team 17 years ago.  My husband will politely decline and then go on a tangent about how they are always the underdog and how it is always noble to root for the underdog.  I will refrain from any jokes about Michael Vick and dogs.

Onward to Thursday!!  Go Steelers!!

Tell me what you think

