Mi familia

Today is the day I will see my extended family for the first time since I blew up like a blimp.

I saw them at my wedding, of course, and at the beginning of July, but the steroids hadn’t fully kicked in then.  And I wasn’t on the methotrexate at the time.

Now I have difficulty walking and moving around in general.  I look like the Pillsbury Doughboy (hoo hoo!) and I can’t keep my head together.

They all know about my issues through the family grapevine, and we also have a nifty family facebook message board.

The occasion?  My cousin’s wedding reception.  They had a private wedding ceremony last month at the JP and today they are having a true Texan reception.  BBQ, a band, the works.

I altered my medication schedule so that I can be there.

I usually do my methotrexate on Friday night in hopes that when I do return to work (if that ever happens), my body will be on schedule to feel like crap all weekend and be ok by Monday.  But I didn’t want to be walking around like Frakenstein today and I wanted to be mentally present (or as much as I can be) tonight to celebrate.

I can’t drink alcohol, but I probably wouldn’t have anyway.  I didn’t drink alcohol at my own wedding earlier this summer.

Dancing with my husband?  Probably.  If I can get him on the dance floor.

Food?  Appetite has sucked lately.  Not that I’m complaining.  Still carb craving like hell.  I know there will be cupcakes.  Lots of cupcakes.

I hope the increased pain I have been having stays in check.  I have been taking a tramadol a day in addition to two extra strength tylenol to combat the pain in my knees, feet, hips and wrists.

I need to take a nap before this all goes down.

Yee haw!! Where are my cowboy boots?

Tell me what you think

