A potpourri for a Sunday

My aunt pulled me aside last night to talk about the family curse — autoimmune disease.  She has RA and lupus, her son (the groom) has vitiligo.  She told me the basics of her story, how it took awhile for doctor’s to figure out it was lupus and RA.  She wants me to get a second opinion and see her rheumatologist.  She also told me it will be ok.  I needed to hear that from someone who has been through it and who has been dealing with autoimmune for 20+ years.  I will probably look into the second opinion.

Still in limbo with my job.

Steelers embarrassed themselves on Thursday and lost to the Titans.  So I will spend today watching games rooting AGAINST the other teams in our division.  But it might not be easy.  That means I have to root FOR Dallas (ewwwww) and for a tie (which is now impossible) in the Bengals v. Browns game.

The issue with Dallas.  Supposedly they have the #1 franchise according to net worth.  People just love jumping on that bandwagon.  They have the immense stadium (I’ve been up there, not inside, just drove around) and it is impressive.  As per my husband, people become fans of the Cowboys in his neck of the woods only because they hate the home team (Eagles).  Apparently they have this grotesque song and dance ” Ain’t no fan like a Cowboy fan”.

Now I am from Texas.  My family has lived here for their entire lives.  I have met many Cowboys fans who have lived in the state of Texas for their entire lives.  No one who has lived here for their entire lives have ever heard of that stupid song and dance.

I just don’t like Dallas because they claim to be “America’s Team” without any input from America.  There was no vote.  No consensus.  And they beat my Steelers in Superbowl XXX.  I really don’t like Tony Romo and truly enjoyed their performance against Chicago two weeks ago on MNF.

I guess one of the reasons I don’t like the Cowboys is that their fan base is truly pathetic.  My husband, the Eagles fan, knows more about their history, their current line up, their strengths and weaknesses than the average dozen Cowboys fans put together.  Their fans are all gung-ho when they are winning.  When they suck, they abandon them.

In Pittsburgh today you will here a multitude of suggestions that Tomlin should make to the offense, defense (and I bet one of them is Ike Taylor) in order to avoid a repeat of Thursday.  I know for a fact that in Philly (and in my home) Eagles fans are clamoring for the head of Mike Vick and throw in Big Red for good measure.  But not so in Dallas.  They just shrug their shoulders.  They don’t know their o-line or their d.  I’ll bet some of them still think that Troy Aikmen is still their quarterback and he is still throwing long bombs to the Playmaker.

Enough football.  Let’s talk about why I will not see #87, #71 and #29 on the ice this year.  The NHL is already by far dead last in popularity of all the professional sports.  I honestly think soccer is starting to climb up the ranks in popularity and will outrank the NHL if this lockout shit continues.  I am a huge hockey fan, and of course my team is the Pittsburgh Penguins.  I love Marc-Andre Fleury and Sidney Crosby and Evgeni Malkin.  And, surprise, surprise, my husband is a Flyers fan.  I. HATE. THE. FLYERS.  I don’t mind the Eagles.  But since the Flyers are in the same division as the Pens, and they see each other 8 times a year, it tends to get messy here at home.

If the Flyers weren’t so filthy and out for blood, I think I wouldn’t mind so much.  But they definitely have it in for Sid.  Can you say Hatcher?  I actually ban Flyers objects from my home.  Seriously.  He has one shirt and thats it.  Phillies I’m ok with, Eagles, fine.  No Flyers.  Ever.

But I will miss my hockey.  And it doesn’t exist down here.  They do have the Texas Stars, the AHL affiliate of the Dallas Stars.  And their team is actually pretty good.  Its hysterical going to games with a bunch of Texans who know nothing of the game.  They think that icing is when the player sprays ice.  And most of the spectators are there for the cheap beer, so it gets pretty interesting.

Oh and its ZOMBIE day!!!

My bonus child hooked me on zombies a few years ago.  I have been a huge fan of  The Walking Dead ever since.  I missed a few episodes in the middle of season two, I think a lot of people did.  It was during that “we are on the farm looking for the little girl and we are just going to stand around and be lethargic for a few episodes” period.  But boy, did the shit hit the fan at the end.

I’m really looking forward to Michonne.  I’m hoping for certain characters to be killed off.  And that Rick’s backbone remains intact.

So as of right now, mentally and emotionally I’m feeling pretty good.  I delayed the injection of poison so I could enjoy my cousin’s wedding reception, so physically I am glued to the couch and have that all too familiar lead in the limbs feeling.  Slight nausea.  And exhaustion.  Due for a nap pretty soon.  I have been know to fall asleep at the laptop.  My head feels disembodied at times.  Fun.

Back to resting.

Tell me what you think

