Insomnia…how I hate thee…

I found this gem on my computer screen this morning…when Sunshine woke me up.  In front of the laptop.  On the uncomfortable couch.  Looks like I found my cure. Enjoy!!

 

It’s 3 a.m…..and I will not bust into a Matchbox Twenty song..

Kudos to those of you who got the joke..

My sleep cycles have been off.  I have been “crashing” lately, meaning having those sleep spells on the weekends where I just fall asleep for three to four hours out of the blue.  So that leads to me staying up later at night.

And then I had the recent 15 hours sleep-a-thon, so that must have thrown me off.

I went steroid free for a week around 10 days ago due to lack of funds.  Because I am waking up later in the day (or at least getting out of bed later in the day) I have been taking my 3 mg of prednisone later in the day as well.

I have been screwing with the dosages of my medications, trying to take Lyrica every other day, cutting my topamax dosage.  So I know my body is pissed off that I’m screwing with its neurotransmitters.

Combine this with a plethora of thrilling, page turning reading material and it is no wonder that I am battling insomnia right now.

I guess I have the “luxury” of having insomnia.  Short of having to get Sunshine out the door, I really have no plans for tomorrow, other than breakfast with my parents.  I know I should make myself stay awake tomorrow, and hopefully get in to a more established rhythm, but I’m guessing that won’t work.

Sleep has always been an issue.  Since I was a teenager.  Only recently have I been able to have periods of a full nights rest.  But I go through phases like this, where I’m battling insomnia, or even just “poor ” sleep.

Its like this: from what I understand, fibromyalgia has an underlying sleep disorder to it.  Something with alpha wave intrusion.  Now I have never been tested for it, I have never been subjected to a sleep study, or even a run of the mill EEG, but this makes sense to me.  Sometimes, especially when I am without the Lyrica, I can only achieve a light level of sleep.  It’s comparable to what most people get when dozing on the couch: you can hear the TV, feel the furniture, are aware of people in the vicinity.  Dreams, if any, are fuzzy, like static on a TV.  I can’t seem to sink deeper to where my mind turns off and I am unaware of my surroundings.  Those nights I feel like I have been awake all night.  Like last night.

I took Ambien for years to treat this phenomenon.  I never had an adverse reaction to it.  I never sleep walked, sleep drove, sleep ate.  The most was I would forget conversations or actions that took place around the time I took the medication.  And that kind of sleep is DEEP.  Like “who am I and where am I” when you wake up sort of sleep.  ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff           mrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrre                                                                     c

Tell me what you think

