New Years Resolutions when your health is in the toilet

I don’t do New Year resolutions.  I have never done them, I think they only set people up for failure.  And when you have a lovely, uncertain, chronic health condition such as I, the typical resolutions of “lose 15 lbs by Valentine’s Day” are probably unrealistic.

So I’ll just write some broad, long-term goals.  I have actually been starting to do a few of these in the past few weeks, but an arbitrary date, such as the New Year, is a good time to write them down.  Here goes:

1)  Keep better track of my health.  Right now I’m sort of “winging it”.  I haven’t been keeping track of what meds I take when. I’ve actually weaned myself off of some of my meds in a haphazard fashion due to cost issues.  I should have kept better track of that.  And I need to organize my health information and records in a more coherent way (other than the messy pile they are currently in).

2)  I want to look into more holistic health options.  I was seeing a naturopath when I started getting sicker.  Since I have had lack of funds, I have stopped all my herbals and vitamins.  But I know there are cheaper and better ways to care for my body other than traditional western medicine.  I just need to find the right balance between western medicine and complementary medicine.

3) Eat healthier. I won’t put “lose weight” as a goal, because I know that taking long term steroids seriously puts that goal in jeopardy.  But “eating healthy” means getting more fruits and vegetables and drinking more water.  I can do that.

4) More movement.  Again, I won’t set out a goal to do a set number of exercise each day.  But with a goal of “more movement” I can feel satisfied if I stretch once a day, if I took a 10 minute walk.

5) Better sleep hygiene.  Since I stopped taking some of my meds due to cost, namely my Lyrica (which I had been on for years), I have been having more issues sleeping.  Some nights during the past few weeks I have had 2-3 hours of sleep at the most.  That is unacceptable and it has to get better.  I know what to do, I just have to do it.  Set bedtime, set a routine, take something if I need to BEFORE midnight.  I know that I can do this if I set my mind to it.

6) Look into every available option of insurance, funds, and help for my condition.  I know help is out there.  I have to find it.

So that’s it.  I hope to be working on this and blogging around these issues.  It is evident that I’m stuck with this crap for the long term.  I have to find a better way to live than popping my meds and laying on the couch.

Tell me what you think

