Euphoria

I don’t get to write many of these posts.

At this moment in time, I am pretty euphoric.

Had a fantastic day at the zoo with Sunshine, my husband and my mom.  It was a little chilly, but health wise I held up.  My plan of frequent breaks and rest stops seems to be working out.  Because of the weather, there was practically no one there.  I tend to get overwhelmed with crowds and lots of noise these days,  but we were able to stroll leisurely through the zoo with minimal difficulty.

On the way down (its about an hour and a half away), I did manage to give myself a migraine when I was trying to focus on the tiny screen of my camera to delete pictures to make room on my SD card.  But I took my medicine and the migraine (complete with nausea), subsided by the time we got there.  Score!

We had an early dinner that I actually had the appetite for (gotta love ihop) and on the way home all of the adults shared a “spirited political discussion” on the state of healthcare in America.  No one got upset, no one called names, voices weren’t raised.  Although I will continue to disagree with my mother’s position on access to healthcare, we were civil.

The main issue is that she feels the government has no business in healthcare.  I understand her point, but then consider my own situation:  I currently have no insurance, I have a chronic illness that could result in permanent blindness, and I have no access to a potential cure because I cannot afford it.  The medication I am currently taking to keep the inflammation in my eyes from progressing is not eliminating it completely.  It has been recommended for me to start on other medication to halt this disease, but I cannot afford it.  So I am running the risk of permanent eye damage because I cannot afford the optimal medication for my condition.  Because I can’t work to afford my health insurance.  I can’t work because of said health condition.  See the dilemma?

So we basically agree to disagree.

When I got home, my final Christmas gift was in my  mailbox.  The CD containing all of my professional wedding pictures from my wedding in June.

Just looking back on that day is enough to produce euphoria.  You can see the love we have for one another pouring off the screen.  I nearly cried.  We have been through so much in our young marriage, and just seeing that one perfect day (before I ballooned by 40lbs, thank you steroids) is such a strong reminder of our love and devotion.

Awesome day.  I shall savor it.

Tell me what you think

