Some room to breathe…

Finally!!

Good news!! The short term disability claim through my former employer was finally approved.  It only took nearly six months, but after faxing pages and pages of my medical records, they finally approved it.

So we can breathe a little bit easier with regards to finances.  Not that I’ll be able to go and buy a new car or something, but rent is at least covered for the next few months.

And I spent the day applying for jobs.  It is so hard to read job descriptions and try to imagine myself doing that job with my reduced functioning.  I don’t know when I’ll have a “good day” or a “bad day”.  I know that I can only work the last few days before my methotrexate dosage.  Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays mostly.  And I have no clue how certain jobs would affect my fatigue.

I haven’t been able to work as a bedside nurse since my brush (read nine months of hell) with c.diff seven years ago.  Two different infectious disease docs told me to stay the hell out of the hospital due to increased chances of me contracting another lovely hospital acquired infection while working.

Although nursing is a very dynamic field, I am having difficulty finding the ideal position to fit my current health needs.  I have difficulty articulating the ideas I am trying to get across at times.  I forget medical terms, I stutter occasionally while my brain is sifting through the info.  I don’t want to present as unintelligent or lazy.  I just have a longer time synthesizing info, no matter what it is.  Sometimes I have to ask people to repeat themselves.  Slowly.  I have to write down everything.  And forget about spelling.

But overall, today was a good day.

Tell me what you think

