The left side of my body hates me

The left side of my body hates me.  My migraines are usually left sided.  I get flares of pain in my left hip and left lower back. My left eye is “worse” than my right, in that the inflammation has not been stamped out in that eye.  And last night I was visited by a syndrome of years passed:  RLS.  And on the left side considerably more than the right.

I have had RLS since the diagnosis of fibromyalgia 7 years ago.  If you don’t know what it is, let me describe it to you.

“RLS” is “restless leg syndrome”.  Yes, it is a real health complaint.  Here is an article about it from PubMed.

When I first encountered this issue, it was awful.  I had this insatiable urge to move my legs.  As soon as I would relax in bed, I would have to start bending and flexing my knees, pointing my toes, stretch those muscles.  Many times I had to get out of bed and pace until my body became so tired, I had to lay down.  It feels like an “electrical sensation” up and down my legs.  Occasionally it feels like bugs crawling.

It is still a mystery to doctors.  The link it with diabetes, peripheral neuropathy, anemia.  For me, I think it is a fibro thing.  My synapses like to be deficient in certain substances and chemicals.  And I have no doubt that this is what is causing this horrible sensation.

When I started on Lyrica 5 years ago, the RLS went away along with the lingering muscle pain.  I was able to sleep through the night.

Due to medical costs, I have been without Lyrica for about a month now.  And apparently it has left my body completely because the dreaded RLS has returned.

I have been getting small glimpses of it the past week, but last night it was horrendous.  I went to bed around midnight.  My left hip was starting to hurt, so I laid on my right side.  Even after taking Benedryl for my rash issue, I was still awake. The sort of awake when you are so damn tired, but your body will not relax.

Closer to 3 am, it wasn’t just in my hip, it was up and down my left leg.  And to a lesser extend in my right leg.  I had to get out of bed.  I started pacing again.  I got down on the floor in the living room and stretched for 30 minutes.  I fell asleep out there, but woke up about an hour later.  Still on the floor.  And I was able to go back to bed and sleep until Sunshine woke me up at 6.

So I am exhausted.  And the RLS is back.  Usually people don’t have symptoms during the day, but since I am less active due to pain and fatigue, I am enduring it right now as I write this while sitting up in bed.  As soon as I end this post, I will be back on the floor again, trying to stretch my hips and legs.

I do see the doctor today, and I hope I remember to bring this up.

I can’t stand it.

Tell me what you think

