The conundrum of being a Steeler fan

Football Field on 40 Yard Line

As a born and bred Steeler fan, I don’t think I could let this day pass without making some derogatory statements about the Baltimore Ravens.  I think it is actually written in the membership agreement for the Steeler Nation:  thou shall make fun of Baltimore (and Cleveland, and the Bungles,and the Patriots) at all times.  (For evidence that the Steelers fans are actually a “nation” click here).

GO Steelers!!!

Today, I am split.  As  Steeler fan, it is impossible to cheer for Baltimore.  But, if the 49ers win, they will also have six Superbowl titles (for those who don’t care for football, the Steelers are the only team since the merger to have six Superbowl titles).

I do like Kaepernick as a QB.  His enthusiasm for the game is evident and he is a joy to watch.  That  boy is fast!!

I also have a soft spot in my heart for the 49ers, because Joe Montana is from Western Pennsylvania.  And one of my friends is a die hard 49er fan.

But if they win, the Steelers are no longer the King of Rings. They will have to share that title.  And that isn’t too fun. Perhaps it will stir something in the Steelers to actually make the playoffs next year.

And I really can’t cheer at all for Ray Lewis.  I did read the articles concerning his “incident” 13 years ago, and I’m not impressed.  It still amazes me to this day that NFL players always get preferential treatment in the justice system.  If you need more proof, check out the Steelers QB.  I still have a difficult time with that one.

The Baltimore Ravens aren’t as “exciting” as the 49ers.  Joe Flacco often chokes in big games.

This is a “Fighting Blue Hen”

But he is a fellow UD “fighting blue hen”, so my husband is firmly on his bandwagon.

And the “Har-bowl”, if I needed a reason to puke, that happens to be it.  Both are immature and throw tantrums on the sidelines.  Out of the two of them, I dislike Jim Harbaugh more, just because of his on-field antics.  At least John Harbaugh conducts himself with a little more decorum.

And I am absolutely THRILLED that Belichik will not be making an appearance in the Superbowl.  Even though it is quite satisfying watching the Giants beat the Pats (twice).  I have no respect for that man.  I didn’t like him and his attitude BEFORE “spygate” came out.

To make things a little easier, the Penguins thrashed the Capitals today IN Washington.  That is hockey for those of you who are uninitiated.
So there is my Superbowl rant. I just may have to cheer the commercials.  GO CONSUMERISM!!!

Tell me what you think

