Yoga

© Seema_illustrator | Stock Free Images & Dreamstime Stock Photos

© Seema_illustrator | Stock Free Images & Dreamstime Stock Photos

I am on my third day in a row of doing yoga. I don’t know why I just started with yoga to begin with.

When I first got sick, in 2005, while I wasn’t able to go to work, I went to yoga class three times per week. I have always continued to use some of the concepts I learned during that time.

Sunshine had a Girl Scout outing this past weekend, and it was to a local yoga studio. Sunshine also likes yoga, and I used to catch her doing just like Mommy in her crib. You would see her little tush on the video screen doing downward facing dog.

So after I went to the yoga outing with Sunshine, I decided to go on my own.

I didn’t have any available time until this morning, so on Monday and Tuesday I did my own yoga at home.

I followed a video I found on youtube, and it kicked my butt.

Maybe I shouldn’t have clicked on the video that said “yoga for weight loss”.

It was an amazing workout, and I felt ok enough to do it again the next day.

And this morning, finally, a “gentle” yoga class. I’m not too sore this evening, although I am exhausted. The difference between “gentle” yoga and regular yoga, I’m finding out, is that the instructor takes it very slow. The different poses are less taxing, and she allows ample time to ease into them. Also, she gives suggestions for modification of the poses if health conditions won’t allow for the full pose.

In now way was I shortchanged by doing “gentle” yoga. The instructor was focusing on the hips and core today, and I seriously felt my left hip loosen for the first time in years. Probably since the last time I did yoga. And its almost 12 hours later and my hips are still loose.

So I’m feeling muscles I didn’t know I had, but this is a “good hurt”. Its low level. I’ll stretch out before bed again.

I’m planning on doing a “yoga cross train” tomorrow for my arms via youtube.

Hopefully I survive that one too 🙂

4 thoughts on “Yoga

  1. I’ve recently re-started yoga too, and am loving it. My back and legs are incredibly stiff from not being able to bend/move properly for four years, so every bit of loosening helps! I find yin, hatha and restorative yoga to be gentle but still effective. Good luck with your practice!

  2. You made me want to get back into pilates. I wish I could get more into yoga, but I never could. I know it’s even better for flexibility and stretching than pilates. I hope it keeps going well!

Tell me what you think

