Under pressure

© Krzysiek_z_poczty | Dreamstime Stock Photos & Stock Free Images

© Krzysiek_z_poczty | Dreamstime Stock Photos & Stock Free Images

I just can’t win. Yesterday (and most of the day before) were absolutely awful.

I was hit with one of the most intense headaches I have ever experienced. And this is very meaningful because I have had migraines for the past 17 years and have been to the ER plenty of times to deal with the pain.

This one was different. My migraines are usually left-sided. Its usually an intermittent to constant pain that I can identify pretty quickly and take the appropriate medication (Treximet). They haven’t been getting to the “point of no return” lately because I have a good supply of the meds right now and don’t feel I need to ration them.

Well, Tuesday, I was hit with a severe headache that I really couldn’t identify. The pain was across my forehead, down the middle of my skull (I call it a skunk headache) and then across the back of my head and neck. The pain came on quickly and was absolutely intense. I’m talking 9/10 on the pain scale. I was literally lying in bed, pulling my hair because that sort of distracted from the intense pain I was experiencing.

I did check my vitals (like any good nurse) and my bp was 150/100.

The pain was intense. I mean, teeth grinding, grab on to the closest thing and scream pain. I didn’t go to the ER because I have no health insurance and I’m already in over my head as far as medical bills go. I took the Treximet which helped, but not as quickly and not as completely.

I finally fell asleep (with a pillow over my head, vicks vapo rub coating my face and biofreeze coating my shoulders) around 8:30 p.m. I woke up at midnight, absolutely exhausted. But still in pain (it was about a 3 at that point). I again took my Treximet and went back to sleep.

I got up with Sunshine at 6 and still had the pain. My blood pressure was still high (112/98) so I did the entire routine over again. This time I could barely move. I mean, I was so dizzy that I had to “furniture surf” so I didn’t fall. I had nausea, I couldn’t think straight. But Sunshine got on that bus. She was clean, fed and happy.

I woke up to my mom taking my pulse. I had sent her a text earlier in the morning telling her what was going on. She tried to get in touch with me (I had my phone on silent) and when she didn’t get a response she just came over.

I am so happy that she did. My blood pressure at this point was 112/100 and the pain wasn’t as severe, but still present. My mom made me call my primary care doc and she drove me to and from the appointment (and she paid for it).

My husband was basically clueless. He also has high blood pressure (usually 140/90) but he has never had any symptoms. He was at a loss for what to do for me. He had good intentions, but just didn’t know what to do.

So I went to see my PCP. The doc thinks the headache is from the blood pressure, or that my migraines are getting more intense because of the blood pressure. I already knew that I was drug sensitive. I had no clue I was blood pressure sensitive as well.

For perspective, a blood pressure like 112/100 is concerning. But some people are able to function with consistently high blood pressure without any sort of symptoms. I have seen people with bp as high as 200/120 and not feel it. That is why it is called “the silent killer”.

I have never had any problems with my blood pressure before. It actually runs low. Normal for me would be 98/70.

The doc is also very concerned about the associated symptoms (headache and dizziness). She actually wants me to use a walker.

So, she started me on a blood pressure medication. Fantastic. I am to call if the pain gets worse, if my bp doesn’t drop or if I have any more problems.

I am calling her this morning because the pain is still present. Maybe 3-4/10. But I’m concerned with taking more Treximet, as it is a vasoconstrictor and can increase blood pressure. I’m hoping she can help with something else for the pain.

I am heading back to bed now. Doc thinks it may take a few days to settle down.

I still don’t know why this happened. It could be the steroids. Or the weight gain. Or stress. Or something completely different.

Grrr!! Can’t something go right for once??

4 thoughts on “Under pressure

  1. I hope you feel better soon. I have the same issue. At least you were able to sleep. When I’m hit with those headaches my head can’t even touch the pillow or anything for that matter. I’m trying to avoid taking BP medication but I’ve been slacking off on working out (which usually regulates it for me) so may have to get a prescription. I don’t like having this health problem 😦

    • It is scary and it is awful. The sleep came after six hours of agony. I think my body was just too exhausted to stay awake.

      I don’t like being on the meds too, but with my eyes being a mess as well, I can’t afford to let my blood pressure stay like that.

      I was hoping to get back to exercising today, but I just feel so wiped out.

      I hope you don’t have any more headaches like that. I wouldn’t wish it on anyone.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

Tell me what you think

