Financial ruin and other side effects of chronic illness

People who aren’t living with an illness that they have to manage every waking moment of every day have a difficult time understanding the plight of those who battle their issues every day.

I am fortunate to have the love and support of my family (namely my parents and father-in-law).

I can’t imagine what would be happening if they weren’t supportive.

Apparently I screwed up with my student loan payments last year (I swear I made a payment), so guess who got the $2,500+ tax return money?  Uncle Friggen Sam.

This is a serious, serious setback.  My husband is taking classes to become a certified nursing assistant.  He owes nearly $700 on it and we were counting on the tax return money to pay for it.

He currently works at a job that gives him 32 hours, but won’t pay any benefits.  He volunteers to work more, but they don’t want to pay the health insurance.

I cannot work.  At all.  I can’t drive (if I do attempt it, I drive less than a mile to the grocery store).  I applied for disability.  I am trying to eeek out some financial gain from writing for an online newspaper.  Last month I made a whopping $22.

I have been sick for 7.5 years.  For the past SEVEN years, I have not had one day without pain, without fatigue, without concern for my health.  I have been ingesting chemicals for SEVEN years just to function.

Sometimes it just wears you down.

I am following the directions of multiple physicians.  I am trying to eat better and exercise.  I applied for disability, I have enrolled in a prescription assistance program for the medications that are absolutely vital.  I receive benefits from the state for food.  What else can I do to ensure I’m not homeless?  To make sure that I don’t go completely blind?

Sorry for the morose mood, just extremely emotionally and mentally spent after the past 24 hours.

Any suggestions or donations (ha!) are appreciated…

One thought on “Financial ruin and other side effects of chronic illness

  1. I’m so sorry! If you qualify for state food benefits, you qualify for forbearance on your student loans. One less bill each month for awhile would probably help out a little. It’s definitely something to look into if you haven’t already. Just give them a call. They’re very friendly!

Tell me what you think

