Sunshine’s nose is growing

pinocchio

We have now reached the age where Sunshine is learning the difference between lying and telling the truth.

And true to form, the child is learning the hard way.

Recently she has been telling minor “fibs”. She outright lied to my mom a few weeks ago when she was told to put her clean clothes away. My mom found them on the floor in another room. When Sunshine was asked about this, she said that my Dad did it. Interesting..

Yesterday she was playing dress up with one of her friends. She has a nice collection of dress up clothes and those horrific plastic high heels. She asked if they can go out on the porch. Because I live on the second floor I told her she had to stay on the porch. I really didn’t want to take the child to the emergency room when she tripped down the stairs on those horrible shoes.

No later than five minutes passed before my neighbor downstairs (and a few apartments over) texted me a pic of Sunshine and her friend, in full princess costume complete with the dreaded shoes, smiling in her living room.

It gets better.

When she got back up here, I asked her if she left the porch. “No Mama, I listened, I didn’t leave the porch”. I asked her if she was telling me the truth. She stuck with her story three times. Then I called her over and showed her the pic.

Her face was priceless.

And she was grounded for the rest of the day.

2 thoughts on “Sunshine’s nose is growing

  1. My Mom would say, “I just talked to ___________. I’m going to give you a chance to tell your version.” I almost always ended up telling her more than she knew. 😦

Tell me what you think

