Welcome back to the land of the living

One thing I love about Austin is the plethora of street festivals.

Ever since I have lived here, I have tried to make it to at least one or two per year.

Last year, I made it to one, right before my diagnosis.  I was unable to do the things I wanted to do, i.e. the fall festivals and Halloween, because I was too sick.

So I was extremely excited to be well enough to go to the Pecan Street Festival this year.

I gathered Sunshine and some girlfriends (and one of their reluctant husbands) and we set out to have some fun.

Sunshine got to ride a pony and pet a baby zebra, Mama got some much needed girl time with her besties, and we all got to experience the wonderful eclectic mix of people that is Austin.

When I told my mom what my plans were, she was so excited.

She said “welcome back to the land of the living”.  And I am very happy to be here.

I have done more exercise, participated in more activities in the past two weeks than I have in the prior year.

Methotrexate, not working, and massive doses of steroids really do take their toll.

In addition to working, I have started hanging out with my girls again.  Which is much needed.  Before, I couldn’t tolerate getting out of bed, getting ready, and going somewhere.  Never mind that through the worst of the floaters and issues with cataracts, that I didn’t feel safe driving.  So that seriously curbed my social life.  But my friends were awesome, accommodating me when needed, one even cleaning my house when she came to babysit (she even cleaned my microwave!!).  So its wonderful to be able to return some of their hospitality.

Just hoping that this continues.  That I’m able to stay off the meds and continue getting healthy.

I am already thinking of fun costumes for Halloween…

Tell me what you think

