More questions than answers..

Saw the eye doc today.

Good news?  Inflammation is under control.

Bad news?  The other things he noticed (namely the inflammation of my lacrimnal duct in BOTH eyes) may strongly point to sarcoidosis as being the definitive diagnosis.  Or it could be a completely NEW diagnosis.  Oh and the cataract in my left eye (as a result of the steroid injections) is significant enough to warrant surgery.  Probably in the next year.  Oh and the meds he prescribed for the stabbing pain in my eyes caused by the lacrimnal duct inflammation is $150.

So, again, I am frustrated.  I still don’t have a definitive diagnosis.  He uses the terms “pars planitis” and “ocular sarcoidosis” interchangebly.  I have not had the definitive biopsy that would once and for all settle the sarcoid question.  I’m not keen on getting a biopsy of my eyeball, my doc isn’t keen on doing one either.

But if I can get better treatment by having an ironclad diagnosis, then I’m all for it.

I’m sick of “well, it could be this” or “it could be this other thing that we haven’t mentioned yet”.  I’m sick of the roller coaster.  I just want this to be over with, but I’m realistic that I will probably be dealing with this for the rest of my life.

I feel like hell.  Have been for the past three weeks.  It is hard to tease out what is fibro and what is worsening autoimmune.  I asked the doc and he said its probably fibro.

I just don’t want to go blind.  I know that is a possibility.  As a nurse, I am also aware that doc frequently miss things or think it is one thing and it turns out to be another.

So basically I’m confused.

I know that my vision is worse.  Especially in my left eye.  It is “foggy” on the inside.  I am constantly wiping off my glasses, thinking that they are smeared.  Most of the time the fog is IN my eye.  My night vision is worse that its been since this summer.  And the sun sensitivity is still problematic.  And I now have eye pain.  That is the lacrimnal duct inflammation. It feels like a knife through the top left part of my eye.  Pleasant.

My next appointment is after the holidays.  The doc is comfortable that nothing will need to be addressed before then.  He is also going to confer with my rheumatologist to see if she feels anything needs to be examined further at this time.

Sigh.

Tell me what you think

