Boxing

If I didn’t have fibro, I think I would do the boxing thing for exercise.

My husband has been boxing at a local gym for the past two years.  His main goal was to help lower his blood pressure and to get in better shape.  He has succeeded.  And he looks AMAZING.

I have always been wary of going with him due to the fibro.  I KNOW any extreme exertion can put me in pain for a week.  But yesterday, I needed to do more than exercise.

I need to get out some aggression.

So I went with my husband.  The warm-up nearly killed me.  Jogging with medicine balls.  Over the head.  Wow.

When we started the actual sequences of boxing moves, it got better.  I threw my entire being into punching that bag.  I almost cried, I was so emotional.

It felt incredible.

By the end of the one hour, I was out of gas.  I still tried to keep up with the ab exercises, but I couldn’t do them with the medicine ball.

Wow.  That was one hell of a work out.  I honestly don’t think I have ever done something so exerting in my life, other than giving birth.

It did more for me than just exercise my muscles.  It helped exercise some of the pent up rage I didn’t know I had buried deep down.

I came home, took a hot shower, hydrated.  I took a short nap.  I spent the rest of the evening resting, hydrating, stretching.

Even then, I still had a migraine (a right sided one, which is rare and extremely painful).  I think it was from the dehydration.

Today…dear God.  Every single muscle in my body is screaming.  Especially my quads and hamstrings.  I’ve been popping ibuprofen since late last night.

The pain is incredible.  I’m about a 7-8.  All over.  But sometimes its a “good hurt”.

I’m planning on exercising later today.  I’m hoping to push through it and exercise the pain away.

But I did it.  I survived an entire hour of extreme exercise.  And I’m still alive.  I didn’t give up.  I didn’t puke.  I can’t tell you how good it feels to accomplish a goal like that.

I am probably not adding boxing to my limited exercise routine, but just knowing that I did it, and that I didn’t require a trip to the ER, it makes me feel like I can do anything.

It’s akin to how I felt after I gave birth to Sunshine.  I was diagnosed a year prior to her birth.  At 23, my body routinely failed me, and I was scared that I would never get pregnant, that I wouldn’t be able to carry a child to full term.

After a very uneventful labor, I had a healthy, pink bundle of happiness wriggling in my arms.  I couldn’t believe that I did it.

And that is similar to how I am feeling right now.

I did it.  And I’m going to continue to do it.

The literature on the benefits of exercise is staggering.  I hope to continue this path, that I can continue to heal.

I feel that exercising is helping me deal with my current living situation.  I’ll have more on that in another post.

Thank you all for your positive vibes.  It is greatly appreciated.

3 thoughts on “Boxing

  1. Pingback: E: Exercise | true life is stranger than fiction..

  2. Pingback: K: Kickboxing and krav maga | true life is stranger than fiction..

Tell me what you think

