31 Day Blog Challenge

31 days blog challenge!

I have wanted to do something like this for a long time.  My co-blogger over at The Eclectic Bookworm is featuring the blog challenge on her page.  The original post that inspired her is here.

Introduction and recent picture:

You can check the “about section”, but I’ll go into more depth here.

I’m 31, a mommy, a wife and a nurse.  I was born in Austin TX, was raised in Pittsburgh, PA for 25 years, and I moved back to Texas when my first marriage ended.

I have a wonderful, fantastic, fun, intelligent, funny little girl who I call “Sunshine“.  I prefer not to use her real name on my blog.  Being her mommy has made me a better person is so many ways.  She teaches me so much about life, love, patience and myself.

Our first "selfie" of 2014

Our first “selfie” of 2014

My (second) husband and I have been friends for 17 years.  We met on AOL when we were teenagers.  We lived about 300 miles away from each other, so our relationship prior to 2009 was mainly platonic.  We both married other people and had kids and then our marriages imploded.  He moved down to Texas nearly 5 years ago and we were married in the summer of 2012.

He is my rock.  My best friend.  We have so much fun together.  I am truly blessed to have him in my life.

I’ve been a nurse for 11 years.  I’ve done pediatrics, ICU, pain management, public health.  Most recently I was a hospice nurse for a number of years before my latest round of chronic illness exacerbation.

I haven’t worked steady in about 18 months because of my health.  Our financial situation became perilous about a year into my diagnosis, and we are now living with my parents.  It’s rough.

I am a huge sports fan.  I love hockey and football.  I’m a die-hard Penguins fan (even BEFORE the dawning of Sidney Crosby) and Steeler fan.  I was born into it.  It’s like a religion.

I do miss Pittsburgh sometimes, especially my friends.  But Texas has always pulled at my heart-strings.  I always wanted to live here and raise my daughter here.  Life isn’t what I expected.  I guess it never is.  But I keep on keeping on.  Hopefully this New Year will bring good health and a better living situation.

Oh and if you know anyone who needs a nurse, let me know…

Tell me what you think

