Day 18

bookboobs

 

Your favorite:  Childhood books

I blogged about this on the Eclectic Bookworm awhile back.

The first thing I remember reading on my own was Dr. Seuss.  It was “Fox in Sox”.  I loved it.  I was one of the first kids in my grade that could read.

As I got older, I became absolutely obsessed with “The Babysitter’s Club”.  I had an entire collection up through the low 100s.  I still have many of them.

I was a voracious reader.  Still am.  I would read anything I could get my hands on.  And since this was 20 years before the Kindle, I usually couldn’t get my hands on much.  Which is how I started reading Stephen King at age 10 or 11.

“It” is NOT a kid friendly book.  But reading “The Stand” (the complete, unabridged version over 5 times) has made an impact.  Reading that book is probably why I love reading post-apocalypse novels and zombie books.

I also read sci-fi, mainly my dad’s books.  I remember reading “Jurassic Park” by Michael Crichton.  Then I saw the movie.  Again, not particularly kid friendly.

Some of the books I’ve read in high school have continued to influence me.  In my 10th grade Honors English we did an entire semester on Holocaust literature.  I read “Night” by Eli Weisel and “Survival in Auschwitz” by Primo Levi.  Reading those books further influenced my later reading choices.

With Sunshine, I definitely encourage reading.  Like me, she learned to read at a young(er) age.  She is always at the top of the class when it comes to reading levels.  She likes funny books, books about Barbie (ugh) and books about animals.

We both now have library cards, and go about once or twice a month.

My hope is that she continues to love reading as much as I do.

One thought on “Day 18

Tell me what you think

