Migraine city

Weather-Worst-Migraine-Trigger-300x199

 

Can you guess which is the worst for me right now?

I have had migraines since puberty, probably before.  I have taken almost every med under the sun.  Treximet works, usually within 30 minutes, to quell the war within my brain.  But Treximet is expensive.  My cost, even with insurance, is $64 for 9 pills.  I am currently having 4+ migraines a week, so that doesn’t exactly work out in my favor.

I’ve been supplementing with Excedrine migraine, but I’m EXTREMELY drug sensitive, and that small amount of caffeine (as low as the amount in a cup of coffee!) is enough to keep me up at night.  Which is why I don’t drink coffee.  That and the smell.

I have started back on Topamax, and as the nurse that I am, independently increased my dosage.  No horrible side effects yet.  I just want the pain in my head to end.

The nausea is enough to keep me from eating actual foods, which is slightly beneficial because it keeps me from seeing certain people at meal times.  Yes, that situation has not gotten any better, despite my best efforts to duck and cover.  I truly feel that my relationship with my mother is beyond repair.  Don’t think I can ever forget the evil she has spewed at me over the last few months.  It still hurts, but my shell is growing back.  Tougher and thicker than ever.

The one truly awful side effect of this migraine nonsense is that I haven’t been able to fully enjoy Valentine’s Day.  My husband bought me chocolates, and I can’t eat them.  Major, major trigger.  Boo.

Good news?  I should be hearing back from a prospective employer sometime soon.  I’m hearing from a friend that works there that it is a pretty good bet that I’ll be hired.  The sooner I start, the sooner I can move out.

Maybe that will take care of my number one trigger:  stress.

4 thoughts on “Migraine city

  1. Feel better! It was a struggle for me to find what works for migraines. I ended up getting a migraine alert service dog, but Excedrine migraine strength and Maxalt both helped me!

    • I didn’t know a migraine service dog was available!!! How awesome!!! The problem with me and Excedrine Migraine is that it keeps me up at night…

Tell me what you think

