Cows

I live in Texas.  Where the cows probably outnumber the people.  Which is staggering if you consider the booming population of cities such as Houston, Dallas, San Antonio and now Austin.

I live in Round Rock.  It is not in the sticks.  It is about 20 minutes north of Austin.  Population of 100,000 give or take the masses that move here everyday.  It is the headquarters of Dell.  The people that make the computers.  The growth here has been phenomenal.  Probably 15 years ago, the exact spot I’m currently sitting in was a ranch.  Which leads me to the point of this story.

For the past three weeks or so, there has been a group of rogue cows (longhorns, actually) who have been jumping the barbed wire fence across the street and roaming the neighborhood.

Now, I grew up in Pennsylvania.  Cows aren’t a novel idea.  But You had to drive 30 minutes outside a populated area to find one.

This area I live in is so populated that there is five elementary schools within a five mile radius.  All filled to capacity.

So this escaped longhorn thing really provided some entertainment.

Here are the pics:

This is the ringleader, Beau.  He is always forefront in any escape.

This is the ringleader, Beau. He is always forefront in any escape.

I guess the grass IS greener on the other side...

I guess the grass IS greener on the other side…

Sunshine and my Dad set up in the bed of his truck to watch the show

Sunshine and my Dad set up in the bed of his truck to watch the show

And here they come prancing down the street

And here they come prancing down the street

So this has been my distraction for the past couple of weeks.  Hope you enjoyed my cow tales…

 

 

 

Tell me what you think

