M: Medication

 

I hate the fact that I require chemicals ingested into my body on a daily basis to live a pain-free, comfortable life.  I have this fantasy (a goal, actually) that I can get off of the meds in 10 years.  That may or may not happen, but it is nice to think about.

I have been on some sort of medication every day to control either migraines, depression, fibro or autoimmune disease for nearly 20 years.  That’s a lot of medication.

My record for consecutive days without medication was 10 weeks when I was pregnant.  By the end I was so anxious, so wound up, couldn’t sleep, etc that they wanted me on something.

I hate being beholden to something like this.  The thought that my body would go completely haywire if I didn’t take my meds.  I have tried, unsuccessfully, plenty of times to wean off, but it is usually ends in disaster.

I’m not going to go into details on what I currently take or what I have taken, but I will say that Lyrica does work for me.  I have been on it for 6 years and after I got over the initial 6 weeks of adjustment hell, it is well worth it.  It was like I woke up one morning and the pain was turned down.  It is not like I don’t have fibro pain, I do, but I am able to function better with it.

I was on methotrexate for almost a year.  That was a horrific year.  I blogged about it plenty in this forum.  Yes, it was a low dose chemo.  But I am so damn drug sensitive that it completely depleted me.  I felt like the tin man.  I could feel it seeping into my cells.  It was awful, and I will do anything to stay off of that med and off of steroids.

I absolutely refuse to take the heavy hitting narcotics for my pain.  When I was first diagnosed with fibro in 2005, all I knew about it was the few patients I had in the ICU with it and their uncontrollable pain.  These poor ladies would come in and have med lists as long as my arm.  They would be in a flare and they were so drug tolerant that nothing would touch them.  I was terrified when I was diagnosed, and I decided that I would never look to opioid narcotics for daily pain relief.

I do have a script for tramadol that I use very, very sparingly.  Probably less than twice a week.  But I refuse to ask for a script for hydrocodone, percocet, etc.  I feel that those sorts of meds are best for acute pain, not chronic pain.

I have nothing against people who do use those meds, but I do feel that there are better ways to manage chronic pain, and that chronic pain is woefully treated in this country.  I do feel that chronic pain can be treated better if certain substances were taken off of the schedule I list.  I also feel that other non-pharmaceutical treatments can be used for pain, and I do use them myself.

Just because there is a pill for that, doesn’t mean we have to take it….

3 thoughts on “M: Medication

  1. You know you are chronically ill when:
    You say, “Yes, it was a low dose chemo” and that is not the explanation in and of itself of why the experience was horrific.

    I initially read the sentence with emphasis on “chemo” but after I read the next sentence, I realized the emphasis was probably intended to be read on the word “low”. Anyways, you’re tough as hell!

    • Thank you Jackie. I try to show the difference between low dose chemo and cancer chemo. Low dose is a fraction of the cancer chemo dose. My husband once explained that chemo was all heavy metals and the molecules are like bowling balls destroying everything in their path. That is a pretty accurate analogy. I just don’t want people to think that I was at THAT dose. But either way, it was awful. I hope to never, ever experience those meds at a full dosage.

Tell me what you think