P: Pars planitis

 

Pars planitis is the term my eye doc uses to generally describe my eye condition because he really has no clue if its sarcoidosis or something else.  Here is an overview from parsplanitis.org:

Pars planitis is a form of uveitis, one of a diverse group of potentially blinding but treatable inflammatory eye disorders affecting the middle layer of the eye know as the uvea or uveal tract.  Pars planitis can occur in one or both eyes. It can affect children as well as adults.  In some instances, the disorder occurs as a complication of systemic illness. In other cases, the cause cannot be determined.  In either instance, pars planitis is a treatable condition and may require the use of systemicimmunosuppression medication and/or surgery to halt its progression. Untreated, 20% of patients with pars planitis will have significant vision loss, and some will become blind.

Yeah.  That shit is scary.

Even as a nurse, I never knew that autoimmune diseases could affect the eye.  Until I found out the hard way.

So it’s rare.  It’s difficult to treat, it most likely involves needles or surgery IN THE EYE and it might never be gone.

Great.

As of today, I have been off of steroids for 8 months.  I have been off of methotrexate for almost a year.  I haven’t had a MAJOR recurrence, but the floaters are still there.  It looks like an old movie reel.

My night vision has improved greatly to where I feel comfortable driving at night.

I still have difficult adjusting from bright light to low light and visa versa.  Small print gives me difficulty.  I very rarely wear contacts because the irritation they cause isn’t really worth the effort.

I found out later from my doc that he thought I was going to go completely blind.  He didn’t want to tell me at the time, but at my last few visits he shared that with me.  Mainly to highlight that I’m 90% better than when he first saw me.  I still don’t like hearing that he thought I would go blind.

I see him in a few weeks, and hopefully I get another good report.  I don’t know if I will ever be completely “out of the woods” but its nice not to expect a needle in the eye at every doctor’s appointment.

Tell me what you think

