Mr. Mom

It is spring break.  In this part of Texas, at least, most of the schools take the entire week off, all at the same time.  All K-12 and colleges are usually off.  FUN!!

Since I started my new job last week, I can’t ask for the week off, so my wonderful husband is staying at home this week with Sunshine.

And it has been AMAZING.

He has been taking her to the park, building block and Lego cities with her and even made a movie of her Barbies living in the dream house.

Monday I came home to an immaculate house.  I’m talking floors, kitchen, bedrooms, bathroom, all clean.  These are things that take me DAYS to accomplish.

I am so fortunate to have him.  He is able to do the things I cannot.  I can’t do much of the physical things.  I can’t run around in the park for two hours.  I very rarely can get down on the floor with Sunshine and build.  I can do the Legos, but my hands hurt if I do it for too long.  And getting back into work is exhausting me.

So I am eternally grateful.  I know I am a very lucky woman.  Not only have I found a man that loves me for me, he understands my illness.  He supports me in so many ways.  He doesn’t enable.  He uses the right amount of encouragement to push me to be healthier, but on my own terms.  He has educated himself on my illnesses and I rarely, if ever, have heard any of the hurtful “get over it” speech from him.  He understands why I can’t do certain things, and if he doesn’t understand, he asks.

So, thank you, my love.  This journey is so much better with you along for the ride.

GAM

Tell me what you think

