Q: Quiet

 

Quiet. Solitude.  I’m one of those that need it.  I grew up in suburbia, leaning more toward the urban part of that word, but since I have moved to Texas, I have been enjoying the quiet and I think it is very beneficial to reduce stress and to promote health.

I haven’t meditated in awhile.  My “S” will be on “stress”, so you will see more on that there, but my current situation doesn’t allow for much meditation.  There are just too many people living in this house.  There is too much going on.  Four adults, one child, two dogs, one cat.  Too many creatures breathing in too small a space.

I’m writing this a few days in advance.  I woke up (not on purpose, as Sunshine have a nightmare about American Girl dolls chasing her last night) to watch the eclipse last night.  It was cold, and probably didn’t help my pain.  But I wrapped a blanket around myself and went out to watch it.

No one was up (at least for a little while).  I could hear nothing but the wind.  Even the neighbors dogs were quiet for the time being.  It was so peaceful.  It was something I needed.  That solitude.  That time to just relax and be.

And then my mom woke up to see what I was doing.

But it was nice while it lasted 🙂