Baking for Sunshine

The "Rudolphs" are for the boys and the "Clarices" are for the girls

The “Rudolphs” are for the boys and the “Clarices” are for the girls

Sunshine turns seven this week.

Where did the time go?

In typical Sunshine fashion, she has commissioned her Mama to bake two sets of cupcakes for her birthday.  One set for her class at school, and one set for her “kid” party on Saturday.  There will also be another cake for her “family” party on Sunday.

Above is her “class” cupcakes, further divided into the girls receiving the appropriate “girl” cupcake and the boys receiving “boy” cupcakes.

Her “kid” party is a “spa” party.  I found a company in the area that comes to the house and does “spa” parties, i.e. mani/pedis, facials, etc.  Not too expensive either.  I figured I could do the same by myself, but with my health and the fact that my husband will be sleeping during party time, I am pretty much paying for the bonus of not setting it up, not cleaning up and not dealing with several six and seven year old girls by myself.

And with this week’s concussion issue (which I am still struggling with) I am so glad I made that decision.

Today was worse in terms of nausea, dizziness, head pain and fatigue.  I slept until 1:30 pm, completely unintentionally.  My husband slept until that late too, that was after we got up with Sunshine and got her out the door for school.

Sunshine hasn’t recovered from the return to standard time last month, and in combination with the recent stress in the house, has reverted to waking up every night.  Sometimes multiple times per night.  Great.

So I was completely out from 7:30 onward today.  I mean NOTHING was waking me up.  And it was nice to sleep that long next to my husband.  I truly do miss him when he is at work.

I am feeling a little bit better than my last post.  I went to therapy and I’ve been having some amazing support from my friends.  The situation itself hasn’t changed, and there are many times a day when I feel defeated.  But right now I’m ok.

And I now have health insurance again!!!  Yay!!

Hopefully I survive the weekend without too many issues.

2 thoughts on “Baking for Sunshine

  1. Wow! You’re an amazing Mama for making her those special cupcakes. She’ll remember this stuff. 🙂 I’m sorry nothing in life has really improved (concussions!? 😦 ), but I’m happy you feel more equipped to deal with life. That counts for a lot. Also, it has to feel great knowing you won’t have to forgo medical care anymore! I’m thinking of you and will be sending you positive energy to get through the party.

Tell me what you think

