F: Fibromyalgia

F

 

From the mayoclinic.com:

Fibromyalgia is a disorder characterized by widespread musculoskeletal pain accompanied by fatigue, sleep, memory and mood issues. Researchers believe that fibromyalgia amplifies painful sensations by affecting the way your brain processes pain signals.

AND IT SUCKS.

Here is a pic of “tender points”:

fibro

These are specific locations on the body of most fibro patients that, when pressed, can elicit excruciating pain.  If a patient has pain in a specific amount of these locations with a specific amount of pressure applied, it is indicative of fibro.  I didn’t know I had these tender points until a rheumatologist came to visit me while I was hospitalized with c.diff and they were trying to figure out my other mysterious symptoms…fatigue, muscle weakness, insomnia.

The doc walked up to my bedside followed by a few “fleas” (doctors in training), he asked a few questions and then pressed the inside of my elbow.  I jumped out of my skin.  The pain was excruciating.  Electric.  Stabbing.  Burning. And it lingered long after he stopped pressing on the spot.  And that was the last piece of how I was diagnosed with fibro.

Pain and fatigue are the big fibro symptoms.  And they are usually without merit…meaning that just everyday activities is enough to cause pain.  But fibro causes some weird things too.

Sometimes when I itch my skin, it causes severe, lingering pain.  Insomnia is a big deal as well.  You would think that someone with major fatigue problems would be able to sleep…but NOPE!! I also occasionally get IBS like symptoms and nausea.  I am also VERY chemically sensitive.  Especially to smells.  Febreeze is my enemy.

The good things about fibro? After half a decade with this illness, you can see some silver linings.  I have learned to slow down.  I appreciate the little things in life.  The basics.  If I have a roof over my head, food in my belly, a safe environment, and people that love me, I’m pretty good.  I don’t need a new purse, an expensive vacation, new clothes, the newest phone/gadget/etc.

I may complain a lot on this blog, but I do try to see the positive.

2 thoughts on “F: Fibromyalgia

  1. This might sound like a very odd question – but have you ever had a root canal in your lifetime? My aunt did a few years ago and she now has fibromyalgia (same with a cousin). I’ve also been doing some research on it and there are some interesting studies connecting root canals to illness and inflamation. Maybe I am making a connection out of nothing…but it’s interesting nonetheless.

    • No…no root canal. Thank God. I’ve always had weird or quirky things happen as a child, though. I had weird injuries, was always accident prone, had really bad growing pains, etc. Maybe they will figure it all out one day??

Tell me what you think

