Captain Tripps

© Spartak | Stock Free Images & Dreamstime Stock Photos

© Spartak | Stock Free Images & Dreamstime Stock Photos

Despite all my efforts to stay relatively virus free for the past 8 months, the inevitable happened.

I believe I have the flu.

Yes, I got my flu shot. Yes, all my family members got their flu shots. I even got the pneumonia shot.

But from what I have been reading, this years flu shot isn’t “matched” very well. The “flu shot” combines three strains of influenza virus that the CDC anticipates seeing during the next flu season. They start the formulation six months BEFORE the vaccine hits shelves. Occasionally, they guess wrong.

The CDC (and doctors) always say “if you get the flu shot, and subsequently get the flu, you will probably have less severe symptoms”. Still doesn’t make me feel any better. Although I could imagine needing to be hospitalized if I didn’t get the flu shot. I’m still able to type, and that, to me, means that I’m not severely ill.

I do want to clarify that I received the flu shot in October of last year. And that the flu SHOT (which is a killed virus) cannot GIVE someone the flu. The flu mist, on the other hand, is a live virus and can infect someone with the flu if they have a lowered immune system or other illnesses.

I am very good about hand-washing in this household, because of my lowered immune system. I guess I am just shocked that I got it, even with all of my precautions.

The last time I had the flu was in 2009. I contracted H1N1 two weeks before the vaccines came out. That was a doozy. I literally laid in bed for two weeks. I couldn’t eat, I couldn’t do anything. I’m surprised I didn’t land in the hospital. But I had a ton of first hand experiences to share with my patients (after I got well, of course).

This one doesn’t feel like H1N1. I just feel awful. Body aches, low grade fever, nasal congestion and cough.  Chills too, can’t forget that one.

I do have a call in to the doc to see if I need to do anything else.

Not having health insurance really changes the game when you are sick. I can’t just go in to the doctor’s office and have a rapid flu test done and get tamiflu. The office visit is near $80 and I don’t even want to know how much the tamiflu costs out of pocket.

So I will just vegetate in bed. I hope this doesn’t get worse from here on out. And that I don’t infect Sunshine.

I didn’t get this from the little petri dish that is my child. Nope. It came from the other petri dish, my husband. He works at a local community college as a tutor, so he is face to face with the public everyday. He is just finally feeling better after almost a week. And he is very, very healthy.

Ick. Now I’m hurting. Back to bed I go. Maybe I can sleep it off.

2 thoughts on “Captain Tripps

  1. Pingback: Achoo!! | true life is stranger than fiction..

Tell me what you think

